Youths Digest Releases List of Finalists for Campus Journalism Awards 2019

YOUTHS DIGEST – The Youths Digest Magazine, organiser of the yearly campus journalism awards has released the names of shortlisted student-journalists for the 2019 edition of campus journalism awards.

According to the organizers, 30 campus journalists have been shortlisted among which 15 will be selected by the panel of judges as winners of different categories of the award.

The 15 categories for the awards are: Upcoming writer, Entertainment writer, Sports writer, Reporter, Gender equality and Broadcaster.

Others are Photo-journalist, Penclub, Author (Book), Social media influencer, Investigative journalist, Features writer, Editor, Magazine and Campus journalist of the year

The award is set to hold on January 19 at Nnamdi Azikwe Hall, Nicon Luxury Hotel, Abuja.

The Award Committee assessed entries for accuracy, clarity, originality, creativity and the unique styles of delivery.

The panel considered excellence in artistic presentations that enhance or augment the nominations.

Meanwhile, as part of efforts geared towards promoting, enhancing and sustaining the laudable activities of campus journalism, through quality, ethical, balanced, investigative and analytical reportage, Youths Digest, will soon hosts the maiden edition of ‘Campus Journalism Dialogue’ for students-writers and campus journalists.

The finalists below:
Muneer Yaqub
Institution- Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto.

Okerinmodun Faith Olusegun
Department-English Language
Institution-Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife, Osun State

Muhammad Fatima Zahra
Department- Mass Communication
Institution- IBB University, Lapai, Niger State

Uthman Samad
Department- English
Institution- Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife, Osun state

Akinremi Rebecca
Department- English
Institution- Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife, Osun state

Sulaiman Jamiu Abiodun
Department- Political Science
Institution-  Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto

Alfred Olufemi
Department- English
Institution- Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife, Osun state

Maryam Abdullahi
Department-Modern European Languages and Linguistics
Institution- Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto.

Ojuroungbe Sodiq
Department- Mass communication
Institution- Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta.

Akinpelu Yusuf
Department -Statistics
Institution – University of Ibadan, Ibadan.

Mahmud Abdulsalam
Department- Mass communication
Institution-  Fati Lami Abubakar Institute of Legal and Administrative Studies (FLAILAS),Minna, Niger State

Semudara Omowumi Grace
Department- mass communications
Institution- Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko,Ondo state

Abdulhamid Abdullahi Aliyu
Department- Information and Media Studies
Institution: Bayero University, Kano (BUK)

Ibrahim Gaddafi Tanko
Department: Private and property law , Faculty of Law
Institution: Taraba State University

Okerinde Timothy Ayobami
Department- Broadcast Journalism
Institution: Lagos State University

Emmanuel Ayamga
Department- Communications
Institution: Ghana Institute Of Journalism.

Adeyemi Ibrahim
Department; Modern European Languages And Linguistics
Institution: Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto

Ekpali Joseph Saint
Department-Mass communications
Institution- University of Nigeria, Nsukka, Enugu

Tomori Uriel
Department: Mass communications
Institution: University of Ilorin, Ilorin

Adekola Mercy
Department : Mass communication
Institution: Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko, Ondo state

Ikulajolu Adesola
Department- Mass communication
Institution- Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko,Ondo state.

Eric Aondover Msughter
Department- Mass communication
Institution: Bayero University, Kano.

Deborah Phillips
Department- Mass communications
Institution: Bayero University, Kano

Fatima Abbas
Department- Biology Education
Institution- University Of Maiduguri (UNIMAID)

Oluwatobi Abimbola Odeyinka
Department-Mass communications
Institution- Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta.

Temitope Samuel Akinmoladun
Department-Urban and Regional Planning
Institution- Federal University Of Technology, Akure.

Adejumo Kabir
Department- English
Institution: Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-ife, Osun State

Efosa Taiwo
Department- Mass Communication
Institution: Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, (MAPOLY)

Others are: UNILORIN Watch and MAPOLY.

Gidado Y. Shuaib
Editor, Youths Digest